# Crayon competitive intelligence alternatives in 2027: what it costs, who each tool is for, and what switching costs Crayon publishes no price; Vendr data (read Oct 7, 2026) shows a $30,000 median. Five CI tools on 15 capabilities, dated sources, and what to ask first. URL: https://www.hiresteve.ai/blog/crayon-alternatives Updated: 2026-10-12 Crayon, the competitive intelligence platform at crayon.co, publishes no price and routes you to an estimate form, while Klue says its price grows with the number of competitors you track. The realistic alternatives are Klue, Kompyte, Contify and, for a research programme rather than a sales one, AlphaSense. Pick by the problem you can write down: price scaling, rep adoption, a region, or access from an AI assistant. Below: what Crayon costs according to third parties, where its pages are strong, a five-tool grid on 15 capabilities checked October 7, 2026, and the questions that decide what switching would cost. ## Which Crayon, and the short answer A search for "crayon alternative" returns 3D pens and non-toxic art supplies. Add "competitive intelligence" and it returns vendor comparison pages. The CI vendor is Crayon Software at crayon.co; Crayon Group Holding at crayon.com is a different company. G2 lists the product as "crayon-crayon" and Capterra as "Crayon Intel". Alternatives pages for this query are mostly written by vendors or agencies, including Contify's list updated September 15, 2026. This page is from a vendor too. Steve is one column in the grid, with a do-not-choose list at the end, and cells link to the page they came from. A Crayon renewal turns on three questions. Does Crayon's price, which Klue says grows with competitors tracked, still suit a programme that has grown? Do reps open what Crayon sends them? And do you depend on integrations the alternatives lack? Crayon lists Chorus and Clari for call recordings and Seismic, Highspot, Showpad and Guru for enablement, and most tools in the grid below list fewer. ## What Crayon costs, according to third parties Crayon's pricing page says its pricing "is tailored to the needs of your competitive intelligence program" and routes to a "Request an Estimate" form. It says it does not matter how many competitive assets you create or how many stakeholders need access. Nothing else about price appears on crayon.co. The numbers below come from Vendr, a third-party buyer marketplace, read October 7, 2026. They are median contract data from buyers who used Vendr, not Crayon's price list. - Median annual contract (Vendr): $30,000 - Range (Vendr): $12,700 to $46,000 - Purchases in the sample: 93 **A benchmark is not a list price** The Vendr figures above are from the page as read on October 7, 2026. Ask Crayon for a written estimate at your competitor count before you compare anything. Klue's comparison page states the structural difference: "Crayon's pricing increases based on the number of competitors you want to track." That is a rival's description, and Crayon's pricing page does not confirm or deny it. Vendr lists the number of competitors tracked and seat count as price factors. ## Where Crayon's own pages are strong Crayon's 2025 and 2026 releases are about generation and distribution. Its Sparks page says the AI agent creates "refreshed battlecards, a sales email that helps win a deal, a SWOT analysis of a new competitor, and more" and "keeps them fresh automatically by generating, updating, and distributing insights"; it claims 80% of Crayon customers use Sparks. A Field Agent for Slack followed on June 3, 2026. How much a person reviews before reps see a Sparks draft is not described; ask Crayon before you sign. Crayon announced an MCP server on September 4, 2025, a Glean integration on July 14, 2026, and an Insights API on October 1, 2026. The MCP post names ChatGPT, Microsoft Copilot, Google Gemini and Glean as clients; Claude appears only in a sentence about assistants that give generic answers, so a Claude connector is not public. Its integrations page lists Salesforce, HubSpot and FreshSales for CRM; Chorus and Gong for conversation intelligence, with Clari on its aggregate page; Slack, Teams and Yammer; Highspot, Seismic, Showpad and Guru for enablement; and Azure, Google, Jumpcloud, Okta and OneLogin for single sign-on. The Gong write-up dates from May 9, 2022 and describes a "Competitive Mentions Daily Recap" linking to battlecards; ask in the demo whether it still works that way. Analyst standing rests on Crayon's own words: its blog of April 29, 2026 says it was named a Leader in Gartner's inaugural Magic Quadrant for Competitive and Market Intelligence Platforms. We did not open the Gartner document, and Northern Light, AlphaSense and Valona claim Leader status in the same report. ## What switching costs, and what to ask first Crayon's contract, renewal and export terms are not public, so this section cannot tell you your notice date or what leaves with you. Find both before you read any comparison; [the CI renewal audit](/blog/ci-renewal-audit) starts with the date for that reason. Klue's page says "We'll help you completely import all of your content from Crayon", with no timeline and no format. Kompyte, Contify and AlphaSense describe no Crayon import on the pages we read. A vendor's import claim is worth relying on only when it is in your order form. Three costs appear in no vendor page. A move re-implements the integrations you use, and Crayon's list is long. Content built in Crayon, including the win/loss interviews and surveys it collected, stays there unless the export includes it. Reps who learned where the card lives learn it again. If a security reviewer will be involved, [what a CI platform touches in your stack](/blog/ci-platform-security-data-faq) lists the OAuth and data questions for Klue, Crayon, Kompyte and Steve in one place. Put these in writing to Crayon, and to every vendor on the shortlist, before a demo: - Export: the format for battlecards, competitors, sources and collected win/loss material, and how long after termination it stays available. - Import at the new vendor: what moves, who does the work, and the date it is done by, written into the order form. - Seats: what a viewer costs versus an editor, and whether reps who only receive cards in Slack count. - Competitor cap: what adding one competitor or one custom source costs mid-term, and who can add it. - Notice: the non-renewal period in days, the date it falls on for you, and the escalator cap in writing. Then test each tool on the same three competitors of your own, with the same delivery channel, and check the export before you sign. [The Kompyte alternatives post](/blog/kompyte-alternatives) gives the steps; they do not change for Crayon. A team tracking one or two competitors with one owner can run the written questions and a spreadsheet instead of any platform. ## The comparison, and who each tool is for The grid uses the same 15 rows for every vendor. "Not public" means we found nothing on the vendor's pages, and it is never a No: Crayon's pages say nothing about Japanese sources or about citations on Sparks output, and that is all we know. AlphaSense is discussed below rather than gridded, because its pages describe filings, transcripts and broker research rather than a seller-facing tool, and its column would read "Not public" on most rows for a category reason. **Five tools, fifteen capabilities, checked October 7, 2026.** The decision rule: Renew if the integrations are the reason. Switch for a cost or an adoption problem you can write down. *Two product windows side by side, Crayon and Steve, each with the same three skeleton rows; the Steve window holds a short note on the decision rule.* **Five tools on fifteen capabilities. Cells link to the vendor page they came from.** - **Yes**: documented on the vendor’s own pages - **Partial**: part of the job, or limited by plan - **No**: the vendor says it does not offer it - **Not public**: we found nothing; this is not a No | Capability | Steve | Crayon | Klue | Kompyte | Contify | | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | | **Monitor** | | | | | | | Website change monitoring | Yes: Sites checked daily; pricing and messaging changes flagged ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/products/competitive-intel)) | Yes: Website changes, pricing updates, support documents ([source](https://www.crayon.co/product/aggregate)) | Yes: Page monitoring; unlimited competitor coverage claimed ([source](https://klue.com/competitive-intelligence-platform)) | Yes: Website change tracking ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/)) | Yes: Website change monitoring ([source](https://www.contify.com/)) | | News and press monitoring | Yes: Daily news; up to 25 custom sources per project ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/products/competitive-intel)) | Yes: AI news summaries with importance scoring ([source](https://www.crayon.co/)) | Yes: News alerts; no current source count stated ([source](https://klue.com/competitive-intelligence-platform)) | Partial: Hundreds of sources; news sites not named ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/kompyte-competitive-intelligence-automation)) | Yes: 1M+ vetted sources; news API; curation layer ([source](https://www.contify.com/)) | | Review-site monitoring | Yes: Reviews among sources; G2 and Trustpilot named ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/products/competitive-intel)) | Yes: Customer reviews collected as a source ([source](https://www.crayon.co/product/aggregate)) | Yes: G2, Capterra and others analysed ([source](https://klue.com/blog/klue-unlocks-competitive-insights-from-reviews-with-ai-generated-strengths-and-weaknesses)) | Yes: Reviews among tracked sources ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/)) | Partial: G2 reviews via browser extension; automated review monitoring not described ([source](https://contify.com/integrations/)) | | Japanese-language sources or UI | Partial: Japanese-language site; news demo names Japan's PR wire, so confirm coverage ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/ja)) | Not public: No statement found; no Japanese page in sitemap ([source](https://www.crayon.co/integrations)) | Not public: No statement found; AI Interviewer has no Japanese ([source](https://klue.com/blog/ai-interviewer-multi-language)) | Not public: No statement found ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/)) | Yes: 117+ languages; Japan named only as an example ([source](https://www.contify.com/resources/blog/multilingual-intelligence/)) | | **Deliver** | | | | | | | AI-generated battlecard drafts | Yes: Six templates; updates wait for review ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/products/competitive-intel)) | Yes: Sparks generates and refreshes cards; review step not described ([source](https://www.crayon.co/sparks)) | Yes: Auto-generated, per-deal battlecards ([source](https://klue.com/llm-info)) | Partial: AI card creator in early-access wording ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/kompyte-competitive-intelligence-automation-ai)) | Yes: Auto-updating generative battlecards ([source](https://www.contify.com/?p=5978)) | | Source citations on AI output | Yes: Per-claim status and linked sources ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/products/competitive-intel)) | Not public: Sparks page describes no citation behaviour ([source](https://www.crayon.co/sparks)) | Partial: Answers sourced; per-sentence citation not stated ([source](https://klue.com/blog/klue-vs-llms)) | Not public: Not stated ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/kompyte-competitive-intelligence-automation-ai)) | Partial: Guardrailed answers; per-claim citation not stated ([source](https://knowledgebase.contify.com/en/articles/12301472-how-contify-compares-to-generic-ai-assistants-chatgpt-perplexity-or-gemini)) | | Delivery where sellers work | Yes: Slack, Teams, Zoom Team Chat, CRM ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/integrations)) | Yes: Slack, Teams, Salesforce, Seismic, Highspot ([source](https://www.crayon.co/sparks)) | Yes: Slack, Teams, Salesforce, email, extension ([source](https://klue.com/competitive-intelligence-software)) | Yes: Integrations on every plan; browser extension ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/plans)) | Yes: Slack, Teams, Salesforce SSO, HubSpot widgets ([source](https://contify.com/integrations/)) | | Pre-call or deal prep briefs | Yes: Prep brief in Slack before meetings ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/products/sales-prep)) | Not public: Sparks routes by active deal; no meeting brief described ([source](https://www.crayon.co/sparks)) | Partial: Deal Tips on CRM deals; no calendar brief described ([source](https://klue.com/blog/klue-launches-compete-agent)) | Not public: No pre-call brief found ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/)) | Not public: No pre-call brief found ([source](https://www.contify.com/)) | | **Deals** | | | | | | | Win-loss interviews or analysis | Yes: CRM-triggered AI buyer interviews ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/products/win-loss)) | Yes: Win/loss interviews and surveys as sources ([source](https://www.crayon.co/product/aggregate)) | Yes: Analyst interviews, AI Interviewer, Blindspot ([source](https://klue.com/win-loss)) | Yes: Win/loss metrics; interviews via IcebergIQ ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/)) | Partial: Gong win-loss transcripts in; no interview programme ([source](https://contify.com/integrations/)) | | Call-recording integration | Yes: Gong, Avoma, Fireflies, Zoom and others ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/products/competitive-intel)) | Yes: Gong, Chorus, Clari ([source](https://www.crayon.co/integrations)) | Yes: Gong integration ([source](https://klue.com/gong-integration)) | Not public: No call-recording integration listed ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/integrations)) | Yes: Gong transcripts flow in ([source](https://contify.com/integrations/)) | | CRM integration | Yes: HubSpot and Salesforce ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/integrations)) | Yes: Salesforce, HubSpot, FreshSales ([source](https://www.crayon.co/integrations)) | Yes: Salesforce battlecards; HubSpot daily sync ([source](https://klue.com/salesforce)) | Yes: Salesforce and HubSpot on every plan ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/plans)) | Yes: Salesforce SSO, HubSpot widgets; no deal sync ([source](https://contify.com/integrations/)) | | Detects competitors in deals | Yes: Suggests the competitor on each deal; you approve | Yes: Gong mentions trigger a daily recap (2022 post) ([source](https://www.crayon.co/blog/gong-plus-crayon)) | Yes: Deal Tips when a competitor is detected ([source](https://klue.com/hubspot-integration)) | Partial: Competitive win rate; no mention detection found ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/kompyte-competitive-intelligence-automation)) | Not public: Account triggers, not deal detection ([source](https://www.contify.com/)) | | **Access** | | | | | | | Access from an AI assistant | Yes: Steve MCP, a separate data offer ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/mcp)) | Yes: MCP server, Sep 2025; Insights API, Oct 2026; Claude not named ([source](https://www.crayon.co/blog/crayon-launches-first-competitive-intelligence-mcp-server)) | Yes: MCP server, December 2025 ([source](https://klue.com/claude-integration)) | Not public: No MCP or API listed; KompyteGPT in-app ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/integrations)) | Yes: MCP via a Claude custom connector ([source](https://contify.com/integrations/)) | | Public pricing | Yes: Starter tiers published; larger plans by quote ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/starter)) | Not public: Request an estimate; Vendr median $30,000 (read Oct 7, 2026) ([source](https://www.crayon.co/pricing)) | Not public: Pricing page routes to a demo form ([source](https://klue.com/pricing)) | Not public: Three plans, price on contact ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/plans)) | Not public: Price on contact ([source](https://www.contify.com/)) | | Customer size and recognition | SOC 2 Type 2 attestation ([source](https://hiresteve.ai/legal/sla)) | Gartner MQ Leader (own blog, April 2026); Cognism and Affinity case studies ([source](https://www.crayon.co/blog/crayon-named-a-leader-in-the-inaugural-gartner-magic-quadrant-for-competitive-and-market-intelligence-platforms)) | 250,000+ users claimed (own site); Gartner MQ Leader (own blog, April 2026) ([source](https://klue.com/blog/news)) | Plans sized by companies tracked and user licences; no Gartner placement found ([source](https://www.kompyte.com/)) | Gartner MQ Visionary; G2 4.5 self-stated ([source](https://www.contify.com/)) | Checked 2026-10-07. Sources: - [crayon.co](https://www.crayon.co/) - [crayon.co/pricing](https://www.crayon.co/pricing) - [vendr.com](https://vendr.com/marketplace/crayon) - [klue.com](https://www.klue.com/klue-vs-crayon) - [kompyte.com](https://www.kompyte.com/) - [contify.com](https://www.contify.com/resources/blog/crayon-alternatives) - [hiresteve.ai](https://hiresteve.ai/starter) Each card is a reading of the vendor's pages on October 7, 2026, with one thing to check before you sign. - **Klue: the seat-billed, curated programme** — Best for a team with a named curator that wants battlecards and Deal Tips inside Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack and email, billed by user rather than by competitor. Klue also sells win-loss interviews as a service and runs an MCP server for Claude. Check first: the migration promise in writing with a date. [The Klue alternatives post](/blog/klue-alternatives) covers its cost and reviews. - **Kompyte: plans with every integration included** — Best for a smaller sales team that wants Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Teams, Highspot and Showpad on every plan and does not need call recordings. Check first: no Gong, Chorus, Clari, MCP or API on its integrations page, early-access wording on its AI battlecard creator, and the Adobe acquisition of its parent Semrush in April 2026, covered in [the Kompyte alternatives post](/blog/kompyte-alternatives). - **Contify: multilingual news and curated feeds** — Best for a team whose gap is news outside English. Contify claims 117+ languages, over a million vetted sources and an MCP server reachable through a Claude custom connector. Check first: review sites such as G2 are brought in through a browser extension rather than described as automated monitoring, Japan named on its multilingual page only as an example, and a Salesforce integration that is single sign-on rather than a deal sync. - **AlphaSense: filings, transcripts and expert calls** — Best for a strategy or finance team that needs SEC filings, broker research and 300,000+ expert transcripts, each answer cited to the exact snippet. Its April 2026 release names Japanese among 37 languages. Check first: its MCP connector is in beta. ## Where Steve fits, and where it does not Crayon's price is unpublished, Klue says it grows with competitors tracked, and its contract terms are private. The remedy is the written questions above plus a test on your own competitors. Steve may fit if the job is daily monitoring and battlecards a rep can check. As of October 7, 2026, according to Steve's own site: you add a competitor's website and Steve checks it daily, flagging pricing, product and messaging changes; up to 25 custom news sources per project refresh daily, with morning summaries to the channels you choose; battlecards come from six templates or your own, each line shows Confirmed, Needs verification or Unverified with its sources, and when a news item or review affects a claim, Steve drafts the replacement for your PMM to keep the current version, apply the update or accept both. Reps ask in Slack, Microsoft Teams or Zoom Team Chat and get the card back. The integrations named are Gong, Avoma, Fireflies, Zoom, Outreach, Salesforce, HubSpot and Google Drive; Steve MCP is a separate offer for Claude, ChatGPT or Cursor. The Starter tiers and what each includes are on the [plans page](/starter); larger plans are quoted. Do not choose Steve if you depend on Chorus or Clari, on Seismic, Highspot, Showpad or Guru, or on single sign-on; Steve's site names none of them. Do not choose it for a Gartner or Forrester name on the vendor list: its stated recognition here is a SOC 2 Type 2 attestation. Do not choose it for Japanese-language sources unless you confirm coverage on your own competitors; its news-monitoring demo names Japan's PR wire among its sources. Do not choose it for filings and expert transcripts, which is AlphaSense. A team tracking one or two competitors should stay DIY with the questions above. If you track more and the monitoring or card upkeep keeps slipping, read [how Steve prices](/pricing) before you ask for a quote. ## Frequently asked ### Is Crayon the competitive intelligence tool the same as Crayon Group? No. The competitive intelligence vendor is Crayon Software at crayon.co. Crayon Group Holding at crayon.com is a different company, and a search for a bare Crayon alternative returns art supplies. This page covers crayon.co only, and claims link to the page they came from. ### How much does Crayon cost? Crayon publishes no price; its pricing page says plans are tailored to your programme and asks you to request an estimate. Vendr, a third-party buyer marketplace read on October 7, 2026, reports a median of $30,000 a year across 93 purchases, with a range of $12,700 to $46,000. That is a negotiating reference, not a quote. ### What should I get in writing before moving off Crayon? Crayon's contract, renewal and export terms are not public. Ask for the export format for battlecards, competitors and sources, the notice period and the date it falls on, and what any new vendor will import, with a date, in the order form. The checklist below has the full list. ### Does Crayon work with Claude or ChatGPT? Crayon announced an MCP server on September 4, 2025, naming ChatGPT, Microsoft Copilot and Google Gemini as clients, and added a Glean integration in July 2026 and an Insights API in October 2026. Its MCP post mentions Claude only as an example of an assistant that gives generic answers, so Claude support is not public. ### What is the best Crayon alternative for a small team? Test tools on your own competitors rather than take a list on faith. Klue publishes no price either, and Vendr, a third party, reports medians near $30,000 for both. Kompyte lists plans with price on contact, and Steve publishes its Starter tiers. Agree pass and fail criteria in writing first. This is our editorial recommendation.